Tracing the contemporary period

During the 1914-1918 war the front was very close to Vieil-Armand and Sudel. The Germans placed batteries in Thierenbach which the French artillery bombed in December 1915, January 1916 and March 1918. The residents were evacuated in January 1916 and the Virgin found refuge first at Niederentzen and then at Eichhoffen before returning after the end of hostilities in October 1919 to its church which had undergone some provisional repairs. Canon Alfred Beyer would then completely restore the buildings and in 1932 construct a new bell tower in the onion-shaped neo-baroque style.

The day after the Strasbourg Eucharistic Congress, Monday 22nd July 1935, the Apostolic Nuncio, Mgr Maglione, crowned the Virgin after a Solemn High Mass celebrated by Cardinal Verdier, Archbishop of Paris, in the company of around 20 bishops and mitred abbots with the Bishop of Metz having given the homily. The celebration was followed by a procession to the church. A procession to Jungholtz and back with solemn blessing was presided over by the Abbot of Oelenberg in the course of the afternoon and brought the great day of celebration to a close. In 1936 Pope Pius XI raised the sanctuary of Thierenbach to the rank of Minor Basilica.



During the 1939-1945 war, despite its proximity to the front, Thierenbach was spared. In 1946 the Confessions Chapel was built and from 1950 onwards the new pilgrims’ gallery in neo-Roman style would bring back memories of the monastic cloister of former times. Canon Joseph Christen would make certain alterations in the spirit of the Second Vatican Council. But it is the present rector, Canon Gerard Sifferlen, who was to initiate and see through the restoration of the entire basilica. Mr Louis Wiederkehr, artist and painter from Soultz, would prove to be the principal craftsman of the building’s interior restoration, giving it back its baroque character with a good deal of taste and finesse.

fermer la fenętre

Au fil de la période contemporaine

Durant la guerre de 1914-18 le front passe à proximité du Vieil Armand et du Sudel : les Allemands ont placé à Thierenbach des batteries que l’artillerie française bombarde en décembre 1915, en janvier 1916 et en mars 1918. La population est évacuée en janvier 1916 et la Vierge trouve refuge d’abord à Niederentzen, puis à Eichhoffen pour revenir à la fin des hostilités en octobre 1919 dans son église provisoirement réparée. Le chanoine Alfred Beyer restaurera alors complètement les bâtiments et construira un nouveau clocher néo-baroque à bulbe en 1932.

Le lendemain du Congrès eucharistique de Strasbourg, lundi 22 juillet 1935, le nonce apostolique, Mgr. Maglione, couronna la Vierge à l’issue de la grand-messe solennelle célébrée par le cardinal Verdier, archevêque de Paris, en présence d’une vingtaine d’évêques et d’abbés mitrés, l’évêque de Metz ayant donné l’homélie, célébration suivie d’une procession à l’église. Une procession jusqu’à Jungholtz et retour avec salut solennel présidé par l’abbé d’Oelenberg au cour de l’après-midi clôtura ce grand jour. En 1936 le pape Pie XI éleva le sanctuaire de Thierenbach au rang de basilique mineure.

Durant la guerre de 1939-45, malgré la proximité du front, Thierenbach fut épargné. En 1946 fut édifiée la chapelle des confessions et à partir de 1950 la nouvelle galerie des pèlerins de style néo-roman rappellera le cloître monacal d’antan. Le chanoine Joseph Christen fera certains aménagements dans l’esprit du concile Vatican II. Mais c’est le recteur actuel, le chanoine Gérard Sifferlen, qui initiera et accompagnera la restauration d’ensemble de la basilique. Mr. Louis Wiederkehr artiste peintre de Soultz, sera l’artisan principal de la restauration de l’intérieur de l’édifice, auquel il redonnera le cachet du baroque, avec goût et finesse.

Les pèlerins de ce 3e millénaire ne cesseront de franchir le seuil de cette basilique, «vas admirabile opus excelsi» (= vase admirable œuvre du Très-Haut), pour rendre grâce à Dieu par l’intermédiaire de Marie et pour supplier la Mère du Christ d’intercéder pour eux auprès de son Fils Jésus.

fermer la fenêtre