The life of the priory up to the Revolution

The nuns’ priory quickly disappeared off the scene. But the monks’ priory flourished as a result of being situated on the St James of Compostela pilgrimage route. The people of Soultz organised the first votive procession in 1138, followed by other cities such as Rouffach in 1142…From this period onwards Thierenbach is mentioned under the following titles: Dirembach, Dierenbach, Thyerenbach, Thierbach…Until the 19th century people used to venerate the Mother of God carrying her child in her arms. But following various calamities and disasters pilgrims began imploring Our Lady of Sorrows, the Pietà holding her dead Son in her lap.

So the priory weathered all the events of its history: a fire in 1276 – pillage by the rebel peasants from Rouffach in 1525, followed by restoration and addition of Gothic elements to the original Roman church – spiritual decline, delapidation of the buildings with the turret threatening to collapse – destruction in 1640 during the Thirty Years’ War, with monks fleeing to the Saint-Mont monastery near Remirement where their labours were destroyed in a fire. Only one monk stayed in the place to look after the estate and celebrate Mass. Upon its return in 1690 the community found nothing but fallow land and ruined buildings which would be repaired only to collapse later due to violent and inclement weather when Dom Chassignet was prior.

By a royal ordinance of 1692, confirmed by the regional authority of the Soveriegn Council of Alsace in 1696, the priory was restored to the Cluny Order through the intervention of the Bishop of Basle. In effect it was a question of incorporating it with another monastery. It was raised from its ruins by the prior, Antoine Devilliers, from 1698 to 1715 thanks to a number of benefactors. As for the original church, this was demolished in 1700. A new building would be erected by the famous Vorarlberg architect, Peter Thumb, in the baroque style, finished in 1723 and consecrated in 1731 by Jean-Baptiste Haus, the auxiliary bishop of Basle. Henceforth the pilgrimage site was to benefit from a new rapid expansion as a result of a growing number of pilgrims and the exemplary religious life of the monks who dedicated themselves to prayer and study.

fermer la fenêtre

La vie du prieuré jusqu’à la Révolution

Le prieuré des religieuses disparut très vite. Mais celui des religieux connu un grand rayonnement par sa situation sur la route de Saint Jacques de Compostelle. Les habitants de Soultz organisèrent la première procession votive en 1138, suivis par d’autres cités, telle Rouffach en 1142… A partir de cette époque Thierenbach est mentionné sous les dénominations suivantes : Dirembach, Dierenbach, Thyerenbach, Thierbach… Jusqu’au XIVe siècle c’est la Mère de Dieu portant son enfant dans les bras qu’on vénère. Par suite des calamités et misères les pèlerins viendront implorer la Vierge douloureuse, la Pieta tenant son Fils mort sur les genoux.

Le prieuré suivra alors le cours de l’histoire : un incendie en 1276 - le pillage par les paysans révoltés venus de Rouffach en 1525, suivi de la restauration avec adjonction de parties gothiques à l’église romane primitive - déclin spirituel, délabrement des bâtiments, la tourelle menaçant de s’écrouler - en 1640 durant la Guerre de Trente Ans destruction, fuite des moines au couvent du Saint-Mont près de Remiremont où dans un incendie leurs archives ont péri. Un seul moine était resté sur place pour administrer les biens et célébrer la messe. Au retour en 1690 la communauté ne retrouve que terre en friche et bâtiments ruinés qui seront réparés, mais s’écrouleront par suite de violentes intempéries, Dom Chassignet étant prieur.

Par ordonnance royale de 1692, confirmée par l’autorité régionale à savoir le Conseil souverain d’Alsace en 1696, le prieuré sera rendu sur intervention de l’évêque de Bâle à l’Ordre de Cluny. En effet il avait été question de l’incorporer à un autre monastère. Il fut relevé de ses ruines sous le prieur Antoine Devillers à partir de 1698 jusqu’en 1715, grâce à de nombreux bienfaiteurs. Quant à l’église primitive elle sera démolie en 1700. Un nouvel édifice sera érigé par le célèbre architecte du Vorarlberg, Peter Thumb, dans le style baroque, achevé en 1723 et consacré en 1731 par Jean-Baptiste Haus, évêque auxiliaire de Bâle. Le pèlerinage profitera alors d’un nouvel essor par suite d’une affluence toujours grandissante des pèlerins et de la vie religieuse exemplaire des moines se consacrant à la prière et aux études.

fermer la fenêtre